School Address 

Rainhill High School
Warrington Road
L35 6NY
Please address any general enquiries to Mrs Loraine Potter.


General Enquiries

If you wish to report a concern please use our Parent Pledge messaging system to contact us.

When you call Rainhill High School on 01744 677205, you will be greeted with an automated system where you can then dial the extension number of the person you would like to speak directly. Alternatively, you can speak directly with the main school receptionist: Mrs Joanne Fossard (Mon-Thurs) or Mrs Helen Coulthard (Friday).


+44 (0)1744677205


Email Address

Click Here to Email The School Directly    


Who To Contact

Curriculum Queries
Stage 1 - Subject Teachers
Stage 2 - Head of Department
Stage 3 - Deputy Head Mr. Cunningham
Stage 4 - Head of School Mrs. Thorogood
Stage 5 - Executive Principal Mr. Pout

Heads of Department
English Y7, Y8 & Y9 - Mrs. Ball
Sociology - Mr. Jarvis
English Y10 & Y11 - Mrs. Jones & Mr. Buxton
Computer Science Mrs. Jenner
Mathematics Y7, 8 & 9 - Mr. Rimmer
Business Studies - Mr. Jarvis
Mathematics Y10 & 11 - Mr. Roberts
Art/CDT - Mr. Bennett
Science - Miss. Robinson
Textiles - Mrs. Cook
Biology - Dr. Gordon
Food - Mrs. Bolland
Chemistry - Dr. Beswick
Dance - Miss. Renison
Physics - Mr. Hurst
Drama/Music - Miss. Renison
History - Mr. Procter
Media Studies - Miss. Critchley
Geography - Mrs. Parkinson
PE - Miss. Bakstad
Philosophy & Ethics - Miss. Evans
Languages - Mr. Herd
Life Skills (PSHE/Citizenship) - Mrs. Whitehead

Pastoral Queries
Stage 1 - Form Tutor
Stage 2 - Year Student Manager
Stage 3 - Year Progress Leader
Stage 4 - Assistant Headteacher Mr. Lamb
Stage 5 - Head of School Mrs. Thorogood
Stage 6 - Executive Principal Mr. Pout

Pastoral Structure
Year 7 Student Manager - Mrs. Martin
Year 7 Progress Leader - Ms. Booth
Year 8 Student Manager - Miss. Gordon
Year 8 Progress Leader - Miss. Williams
Year 9 Student Manager - Mrs. Quirk
Year 9 Progress Leader - Mr. Wood
Year 10 Student Manager - Mrs. Foster
Year 10 Progress Leader - Miss. West
Year 11 Student Manager - Miss. Seddon
Year 11 Progress Leader - Miss. Fryer

If you wish to formally complain, please use the link below to find our complaints procedure.


Senior Staff

Executive Principal: Mr. John Pout. BA (Hons), MEd, NPQH

Head of School: Mrs Josie Thorogood BSc (Hons), NPQH

Chair of Governors: Mrs Sylvia Thompson

Chair of Trustees: Mr John Boyer


Local Area Authority

LEA: St Helens (+44(0)1744 456000)


Timings of the Day

Morning start 8:55am - finish 12:20pm 
Afternoon start 1:10pm - finish 3:10pm